The Rehbein Medal

The mission of the European Paediatric Surgeons’ Association (EUPSA) is to maintain and promote high clinical standards of surgical care for the paediatric and adolescent patients in European countries, to enhance the capacity of its members to discover, disseminate and apply new knowledge to the benefit of their patients, and to follow the highest
ethical standards within the field of paediatric surgery.

EUPSA honours distinguished paediatric surgeons for outstanding lifetime achievements in paediatric surgery who have contributed significantly to the progress and international acknowledgment of paediatric surgery in Europe and in the world with the Rehbein Medal on the occasion of the annual congress.

Fritz Rehbein
  was born on the 8th April 1911 in Westuffeln in Germany.
After his medical education in Göttigen he started on the 1st January 1936 his specialization as a surgeon. 1948 he finished his Thesis and became Ass. Professor and in 1951 he became Head of the Department of Paediatric Surgery in Bremen. He developed multiple surgical techniques adapted to children especially for congenital anomalies of the

gastrointestinal tract. He became internationally known with his method for the deep rectal anastomosis for children with Hirschsprungs Disease.
This method was the basis for the anterior rectal resection for the rectal carcinoma in the adults.
He organized different congresses and helped a lot of European Paediatric Surgeons from all
over the world to establish Paediatric Surgery in their countries.
In 1964 he founded the Journal “Zeitschrift für Kinderchirurgie”, the second oldest Paediatric Surgical Journal. His 1976 published textbook was translated in over 5 languages. He was honoured many times from different organizations worldwide.
Fritz Rehbein died on the 7th Sep 1991.

The Rehbein Medal
The Artist
The Rehbein Medal was designed by Prof. Manfred Kieselbach who was born in Coburg, Germany in 1935. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Munich till 1960. In 1962 he came to Mannheim and worked as a free artist with special interest in sculpture design. During this time he was responsible for courses in art for children in Mannheim. In 1980 he was assigned as Professor at the Evangelic Polytechnic for Welfare in Ludwigshafen for Art as a therapeutic method.
Since 1996 he is a guest professor of the Academy of Fine Arts in Gdansk, Poland. His
works are to be found in many public places around Germany.
The Mint Company
B.H Mayer’s Mint has had a worldwide reputation as one of the leading mints, producing medals and coins since 1871. This company produced the medals for the Olympic Games in 1936 in Berlin and since then many well known coin and medal editions stem from this company.
Our Rehbein Medal was minted by Mayers in 2008 in fine silver 999 print finish, Ø 80 mm, weighing 250gr.